"Let us run with endurance the race set before us." I believe in the lifelong pursuit of love, knowledge, and Christ. Never give up.

When A Woman Isn’t Allowed To Preach

Last week, both I and my father were out of town, and another man (who used to be an elder, and has spent significant time in overseas missions) spoke in place of dad. His wife was going to spend “6-7 minutes of his sermon time sharing her take on the message.” I am told that the elders said “no” to this. Whatever theology they are using to support this decision is resulting in our entire congregation missing out on the perspective of a person who wants to share. I am told that women can share in other ways, even during the sermon time, but they apparently cannot teach from the Bible during this time.

I’m going to be honest, this infuriates me. We just told someone her gender removes the worth of her perspective. This woman has been a faithful member of our church for my entire life, and has always been willing to serve, love, and listen. She is very well-educated, and has a ton of experience with the intersections of theology and human behavior. But she can’t speak in our church? How de-humanizing.

I’m going write the elders and ask for an explanation of this decision, as well as prepare an argument/paper outline on why I believe women should be allowed to preach during the church service.

Just wanted to start this blog out on the right foot.

2 responses

  1. Hey Perrin, check out the L’Abri Fellowship Lecture library. There’s a lecture by Mardi Keyes on women and preaching. She gives an incredible, well-researched, and balanced talk on how we’ve been misinterpreting the passages everyone points to about why women can’t be ordained. It blew my mind and made me completely change everything I’d ever thought. “There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, MALE NOR FEMALE, we are all ONE in Christ.” God calls who he calls, regardless of gender; we don’t have a special type of Christianity for men and a separate one for women. Seriously, check out the lecture.

    October 16, 2014 at 12:14

    • That sounds awesome, I would love to chedk it out!

      October 31, 2014 at 05:50

Leave a Reply

